Views: 368 Posts: 0 Started By: oladamats Last Poster: oladamats Last Post Date: May 03, 2017

May 3, 2017 ( Post 1 )

The Nigerian Senate has begun the screening of about twenty-seven electoral commissioner nominees submitted by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Senate on Tuesday began the screening of 27 Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) nominees sent to it by President Muhammadu Buhari for confirmation, NAN

The leader of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, presented the president’s request for approval of the nominees at plenary in Abuja.

After the motion, the senate directed its Committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to screen the
nominees and report back in two weeks.

The nominees are Godswill Obioma, Abia; Ibrahim Abdullahi, Adamawa; Ahmad Makama, Bauchi; James Apam, Benue; Mike
Igini, Delta; Nwachukwu Orji, Ebonyi; Iloh Chuks, Enugu and Hussaini Pai, Federal Capital Territory.

Other are Sadiq Musa, Kaduna; Jibrin Zarewa, Kano; Asmau Maikudi, Katsina; Mahmuda
Isah, Kebbi; Samuel Egwu, Kogi; Rufus Akeju, Lagos; Mustapha Zubairu, Niger; Agboke
Olaleke, Ogun and Sam Olumekun, Ondo.

The list also contained names of
AbdulGaniyu Raji, Oyo; Riskuwa Shehu, Sokoto; Kasim Geidam, Yobe; Ahmad Mahmud, Zamfara; Nentawe Yilwatda, Plateau and Umar Ibrahim, Taraba.

Emeka Joseph, Imo; Obo Effanga, Cross River; Francis Ezeonu, Anambra and Briyai Frankland, Bayelsa, were also nominated.
The president of the Senate, Bukola Saraki, directed that Suleiman Nazif (APC-Bauchi)
should head the committee in the absence of its chairman, Ali Ndume, currently on

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the Senate had, after the receipt of the list of nominees, threatened that it would
not treat it.

Its grouse was the Executive’s handling of the refusal of the chamber to confirm
Ibrahim Magu as chairman of Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

In another development, the senate referred a list of three non-career ambassadorial
nominees to its Committee on Foreign Affairs for scrutiny.

The nominees are Justice Sylvanus Nsofor, Imo; Joseph Iji, Ondo and Yusuf Hinna, Gombe.

The committee is to report back to the Senate in two weeks.

Share it Let Friends Know

Make A Reply Below!

Desired Name:


You Can Now Beautify Your Posts With
BBcodes || Smileys